Songs for Survival – Mixtape

About a week ago, Jay Z posted a playlist to tidal called “songs for survival”.  This wasnt a hip hop mix.  This was a curated playlist of marvin and stevie and nina simone, etc etc. “Posted along with an image of Malcolm X and Martin Luther King together, the playlist is tailored to ease the souls of many by including music that calls out the injustice that has happened this past week.”  I listened to it for a few days like everyone else, but then it occurred to me that this should be made into a mixtape.  Ive never used someone else’s playlist to make a mixtape before, but this seemed necessary.  So, here you go… songs for survival the mixtape is here.  I know most of you out there who listen to my usual mixtapes might not like this, but MAYBE, some of you will.  Curated by Jay Z – Mixed by DJPetey.  You can listen / download now over at by clicking HERE.  Or, you can click “read more” below to check out the track listing.  Enjoy.

Songs for Survival (the mixtape)

Curated by Jay Z

Mixed and Produced by DJPetey

Click HERE to listen to / download now


Track List:

1 – Free – Goodie Mob
2 – Ooh Child – 5 Stairsteps
3 – Love Me or Leave Me – Nina Simone
4 – Vibrate – Outkast
5 – Someday Well All Be Free – Donny Hathaway
6 – We the People Who Are Darker than Blue – Curtis Mayfield
7 – Ill Take You There – Staple Singers
8 – Loves In Need of Love Today – Stevie Wonder
9 – Ultralight Beam – Kanye West
10 – A Change is Gonna Come – Sam Cooke
11 – Alright – Kendrick Lamar
12 – Say It Loud – James Brown
13 – Redemption Song – Bob Marley
14 – Umi Says – Mos Def
15 – Here Comes the Sun – Nina Simone
16 – Zombie – Fela Kuti
17 – Move On Up – Curtis Mayfield
18 – Four Women – Nina Simone
19 – War – Bob Marley
20 – Freedom – Beyonce feat Kendrick Lamar
21 – Inner City Blues – Marvin Gaye
22 – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised – Gil Scott Heron
23 – Forever Begins – Common
24 – Village Ghetto Land – Stevie Wonder
25 – Bonus Track – Freedom – Joe Budden

Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress | Read New Palm Pre Blog & Review. | Thanks to Wordpress Themes, MMORPG Games and Free Dating